Old Friends

February 17, 2011 at 6:15 pm Leave a comment

Just as the garden was going to sleep for the winter I pulled up some of the spent agastache plants and to my surprise found these little, purple, furry shoots emerging from the base of the plant so, I took the little chunck of stem and potted it up. over the winter it didnt grow much but as the days become longer and light levels increase iv’e noticed the lil’ thing sprouting some new leaves.

I plan on adding some key perennials to bring more body to the bed within the warmer months and also something that will return year after year. Agastache being one of them as it has beautiful flowers, provides lots of food for the insects and has a really sweet, pleasant smell.

While in the garden I also discovered another agastche, where I forgot to take out an old stem,I noticed it had some shoots coming through, which made me  rather intrigued as to how the plant had managed to survive through the winter in the freezing conditions, but i’m glad it did. So it seems my old friends shall be gracing the flower bed with their beauty once again.

Have you made any discoveries in your garden recently?

Entry filed under: Gardening. Tags: , , , , .

Budding Lillies Blooming Bulbs

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, Welcome to my blog 'TheLittleGarden' it's all about growing fresh veggies and flowers and having fun in my new garden

Enter your email address to subscribe to TheLittleGarden blog and receive updates via email

Join 2 other followers

Follow Me On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.