Baby Pumpkins

September 11, 2010 at 9:30 pm Leave a comment

This is my first year growing pumpkins which is rather exciting their a variety called ‘Jack Be Little’ which is perfect for my little greenhouse. I started them off  in april in peat pots and later transplanted them into the grow bags and have supported them with strings so they would grow onto the bench on the side.

It started last week when i was getting worried that my pumpkin hadn’t sprouted any female flowers only male ones, so as i went into the greenhouse to water the plants  I checked the pumkin and noticed a female flower, I thought result! And then I spotted another one! Great! So the next day I came back and pollinated both of them with a earbud which in my experience works really well. 

These are the pumpkins at the moment. I’ve named them after my good friends, mollie on the left and Shane on the right. So I pollinated them successfully and now all I have to do is wait but thats the hardest part, hopefully they’ll be ready in time for halloween.

Are you growing pumpkins this year ?

Entry filed under: Gardening. Tags: , , , , , .

Saving Seed Harvesting Potatoes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, Welcome to my blog 'TheLittleGarden' it's all about growing fresh veggies and flowers and having fun in my new garden

Enter your email address to subscribe to TheLittleGarden blog and receive updates via email

Join 2 other followers

Follow Me On Twitter

  • Having a relaxing week down in Bude, Cornwall So much greenery here aswell cant wait to get exploring... 6 years ago